News And Notes
Aug 18

Dailey & Vincent, IIIrd Tyme Out Lead IBMA Nominations

Dailey & Vincent photo courtesy of Rounder Records.

Dailey & Vincent photo courtesy of Rounder Records.

The International Bluegrass Music Association announced the nominees for the 21st annual International Bluegrass Music Awards, scheduled for Thursday, Sept. 30 at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium.

Reigning two-time Entertainers of the Year, duo Dailey & Vincent, tops the list of nominees with 10 nods for Entertainer of the Year, Vocal Group, Album of the Year and Best Graphic Design (Dailey & Vincent Sing The Statler Brothers), Song of the Year (“Elizabeth”), Recorded Event (“Give This Message to Your Heart” with Larry Stephenson) and Gospel Recorded Event (“Don’t You Wanna Go to Heaven”), along with nominations in the Male Vocalist (Dailey), Bass Player (Vincent) and Best Liner Notes categories (Fred Bartenstein, for the album Singing from the Heart).

Two-time Male Vocalist of the Year, Russell Moore (1994 & 1997) and his band, IIIrd Tyme Out, are nominated in six categories: Entertainer of the Year, Song of the Year [“Hard Rock Mountain Prison (‘Till I Die)”], Album of the Year (IIIrd Tyme Out), Male Vocalist, Gospel Recorded Performance (“The Eastern Gate”) and Vocal Group of the Year—an award the band received seven times from 1994-2000.

Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper, Sam Bush and The Grascals racked up five nominations each. Michael, the seven-time Fiddle Player of the Year who could match Stuart Duncan’s eight-year record in this category in 2010, leads a band nominated for Entertainer of the Year, Instrumental Group, Bass Player (Marshall Wilborn), Mandolin (Jesse Brock) and Fiddle Player of the Year.

Recognized as the “Father of Newgrass,” Sam Bush returned to his musical roots for his latest album, Circles Around Me, nominated for Album of the Year. Sam and his band are also nominated for Instrumental Group of the Year, Instrumental Recorded Performance (“Blue Mountain”), Mandolin Player of the Year, and Song of the Year for “The Ballad of Stringbean and Estelle”—composed by Sam with Guy Clark and Verlon Thompson about the 1973 murder of Grand Ole Opry star David “Stringbean” Akeman and his wife by burglars in their rural Tennessee home.

The Grascals, nominated for Entertainer and Album of the Year (The Famous Lefty Flynn’s), are also recognized in the Instrumental Recorded Performance and Recorded Event categories with “Blue Rock Slide” and “I’m Blue, I’m Lonesome.” Two-time Banjo Player of the Year, Kristin Scott Benson, is nominated again for the award.

Along with the Grascals/Hank, Jr. collaboration, “I’m Blue, I’m Lonesome,” several interesting cross-genre compositions show up in the IBMA Recorded Event of the Year category: Blue Highway with Americana star Darrell Scott, Larry Stephenson with legendary country music couple Marty Stuart and Connie Smith, and Claire Lynch with singer/songwriter icon Jesse Winchester.

The Gibson Brothers were nominated in four categories; and the Josh Williams Band, Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder and The Del McCoury Band each received three nods.

The bluegrass industry’s highest honors of the year go to the new members of the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame. This year’s inductees are singer/songwriter, banjo and fiddle stylist John Hartford and the pioneering business manager of Flatt & Scruggs, The Earl Scruggs Revue and Earl Scruggs Family & Friends, Louise Scruggs. John passed away in 2001, and Mrs. Scruggs in 2006. Click here to learn more about this year’s Hall of Fame inductees.

Click here for the full list of 2010 IBMA nominees.


COMMENT POLICY wants to give you, the fans, a voice on our website and to provide the opportunity for you to share your thoughts about this story. We encourage lively interaction and debate on the stories we post, but we ask that you refrain from using profanity or other offensive speech, engaging in personal attacks or name-calling, posting advertising, or wandering away from the topic at hand. Thanks for taking the time to contribute and being respectful to others.

Post a Comment