News And Notes
Jan 14

Nominees Announced for ACM Newcomer Awards

ACM logo

The Academy of Country Music and Great American Country (GAC) announced today that for the fifth consecutive year, the newcomer categories for the 48th Annual Academy of Country Music AwardsNew Female Vocalist, New Male Vocalist and New Vocal Duo or Group —will be opened up to interactive fan voting through and, beginning Monday, January 21, 2013.

The Academy of Country Music will award trophies in three individual newcomer categories of New Male Vocalist, New Female Vocalist and New Vocal Duo or Group. The winners of each will compete for the overall New Artist of the Year award to be revealed on the LIVE telecast of the 48th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards.  The show is produced for television by dick clark productions and will be broadcast from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas Sunday, April 7, 2013 at 8:00 p.m. live ET/delayed PT on the CBS Television Network. 

The top three artists from the first round of ACM professional voting are considered nominees in each of the three categories, and will compete via the GAC fan vote at, combined with the ACM professional membership vote, to determine the winners for those Awards. Winners in each of the three categories will automatically become nominees for the overall New Artist of the Year award; which will also be determined by a combined fan and professional membership vote.

The nominees for the newcomer categories are:


Jana Kramer
Kacey Musgraves
Sunny Sweeney


Lee Brice
Brantley Gilbert
Hunter Hayes


Florida Georgia Line
Love and Theft
Thompson Square

First round fan voting for New Artist of the Year will begin at and on Monday, Jan. 21tst at Noon ET, and will close on Monday, Feb. 4th at 3pm ET.  The final three winners will be announced in February and will move on to compete as nominees for ACM New Artist of the Year. Final round voting for the New Artist category will begin at on Monday, March 25th and will close on April 7th, with the winner being announced live during the 48th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards broadcast on CBS on Sunday, April 7th at 8p ET/PT.

As part of this partnership, GAC will air several specials, including a show featuring the top nine nominees, as well as a show featuring the final three nominees who will compete for New Artist.  The first GAC special “ACM Showcase” will feature all nine nominees, and will premiere January 21 at 9p|8c. This special will re-air through February 4 when voting closes. The GAC “ACM New Artist of the Year” special will feature interviews and exclusive performances with the final three nominees.  That special premieres March 25 at 8p|7c and airs through April 7.


Posted at 11:00 am, January 14, 2013 | Permalink

COMMENT POLICY wants to give you, the fans, a voice on our website and to provide the opportunity for you to share your thoughts about this story. We encourage lively interaction and debate on the stories we post, but we ask that you refrain from using profanity or other offensive speech, engaging in personal attacks or name-calling, posting advertising, or wandering away from the topic at hand. Thanks for taking the time to contribute and being respectful to others.

Post a Comment