News And Notes
Mar 28

Lady Antebellum Takes Risks on Golden

Lady Antebellum

Lady Antebellum’s 2013 album, Golden. Photo courtesy of Capitol Nashville.

Lady Antebellum’s new album, Golden, out May 7, was largely created while logging countless miles by both land and air on their headlining Own The Night World Tour. During downtime before taking the stage, the band made it a priority to experiment and create with its road band. The result is a fresh sound that still holds to the roots Lady A was founded on.

“We were just kind of in that live show mindset for this album,” Dave Haywood said. “We had that perspective of being on a tour and having seen what translates in an arena. We have a better idea what kind of songs are so relatable where it shakes everybody like, ‘Oh, my God, I’ve totally been there.’”

“Every band I love that’s been here for a long time has reinvented itself in some way,” Charles Kelley added. “There’s a balance to it. I get a little annoyed when people reinvent themselves too much because there’s a reason people fell in love with you in the first place, but I think it’s important not to regurgitate the same stuff over and over again.”

Golden is again produced by Lady Antebellum and Paul Worley. The band willingly took risks on the album, such as releasing “Downtown,” a more funky-sounding tune, as the lead single. The recording uses fewer instruments and Hillary Scott’s lead vocals are front and center more than previous recordings.

“We embraced risk,” Hillary said.  “When you are pushing yourself to not go back to the same well, you’re gonna come up with something different, or you’ll find songs that are different. And that’s what happened on this album.”

GOLDEN Track List:

1. Get To Me
2. Goodbye Town
3. Nothin’ Like The First Time
4. Downtown
5. Better Off Now (That You’re Gone)
6. It Ain’t Pretty
7. Can’t Stand The Rain
8. Golden
9. Long Teenage Goodbye
10. All For Love
11. Better Man
12. Generation Away


Tags: , , , , ,

Posted at 11:21 am, March 28, 2013 | Permalink

COMMENT POLICY wants to give you, the fans, a voice on our website and to provide the opportunity for you to share your thoughts about this story. We encourage lively interaction and debate on the stories we post, but we ask that you refrain from using profanity or other offensive speech, engaging in personal attacks or name-calling, posting advertising, or wandering away from the topic at hand. Thanks for taking the time to contribute and being respectful to others.

Post a Comment