News And Notes
Aug 16

Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame 2013 Inductees

Will Jennings, Layng Martine, Jr., Randy Owen of Alabama and Jeffrey Steele have been named as the next class to be inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Nashville Songwriters Music Hall of Fame
They will join the existing 188 members when they are officially inducted during the 43rd Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner & Induction Ceremony on Sunday, October 13th  at the Music City Center.

“Among all the great songwriters who have put the music in Music City, only a few are elected to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame,” Pat Alger, chair of the foundation’s board of directors, said. “This year we are delighted to bestow this honor upon Will Jennings and Jeffrey Steele in the songwriter category; Randy Owen in the songwriter/artist category, and Layng Martine, Jr. in the veteran songwriter category.”

Will Jennings’ songwriter credits include “Up Where We Belong” (Joe Cocker & Jennifer Warnes) and “My Heart Will Go On” (Celine Dion).  Jeffrey Steele is known for “The Cowboy In Me” (Tim McGraw) and “What Hurts The Most” (Rascal Flatts). Layng Martine, Jr. penned “Rub It In” (Billy “Crash” Craddock) and “The Greatest Man I Never Knew” (Reba McEntire). Randy Owen recorded many of his own compositions with Alabama, including such tracks as “Feels So Right” and “Fallin’ Again.”

Seats are available to the public and may be purchased by contacting event director Mark Ford at or 615-256-3354.


COMMENT POLICY wants to give you, the fans, a voice on our website and to provide the opportunity for you to share your thoughts about this story. We encourage lively interaction and debate on the stories we post, but we ask that you refrain from using profanity or other offensive speech, engaging in personal attacks or name-calling, posting advertising, or wandering away from the topic at hand. Thanks for taking the time to contribute and being respectful to others.

Post a Comment