News And Notes
Jan 16

Martina McBride Teams Up with Don Was to Release Everlasting

Martina McBride Teams Up with Don Was to Release Everlasting

Martina McBride’s 2014 album, Everlasting. Photo courtesy of Shorefire.

Martina McBride will release Everlasting, a collection of iconic soul and R&B songs, on March 4. She teamed up with GRAMMY-winning producer Don Was for the project which includes songs as diverse as Aretha Franklin’s “Do Right Woman, Do Right Man,” Elvis Presley’s “Suspicious Minds” and Van Morrison’s “Wild Night.”

“I love soulful music and it just made sense to me to stretch a bit at this time and do something that fills my heart and allows me to explore a little bit,” Martina said. “I have worked hard to choose some of the best and most loved classics, much like I did with Timeless, and interpret them in a way that is faithful to the original, but still has my own artistic spin to make it mine.

“Working with Don was a dream come true,” she continued. “He is so musical and really helped me focus on how to do these songs in a way that not only features the vocal, but also connects this music with what I’ve done in the past in a really honest and organic way. Putting out new music is one of the most exciting things we can do as performers, and I can’t wait to take this music on tour.”

Everlasting will be released on Martina’s own Vinyl Records through Kobalt label services.

Everlasting Track Listing

1. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man/ Original Artist: Aretha Franklin
2. If You Don’t Know Me By Now/ Original Artist: Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes
3. Suspicious Minds/ Original Artist: Elvis Presley
4. Little Bit Of Rain/ Original Artist: Fred Neil
5. Bring It On Home To Me (duet with Gavin DeGraw)/ Original Artist: Sam Cooke
6. Come See About Me/ Original Artist: The Supremes
7. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted/ Original Artist: Jimmy Ruffin
8. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long/ Original Artist: Otis Redding
9. Wild Night/ Original Artist: Van Morrison
10. In The Basement (duet with Kelly Clarkson)/ Original Artist: Etta James and Sugar Pie DeSanto
11. My Babe/ Original Artist: Little Walter
12. To Know Him Is To Love Him/ Original Artist: The Teddy Bears



Tags: , , ,

Posted at 2:35 pm, January 16, 2014 | Permalink

COMMENT POLICY wants to give you, the fans, a voice on our website and to provide the opportunity for you to share your thoughts about this story. We encourage lively interaction and debate on the stories we post, but we ask that you refrain from using profanity or other offensive speech, engaging in personal attacks or name-calling, posting advertising, or wandering away from the topic at hand. Thanks for taking the time to contribute and being respectful to others.

Post a Comment