News And Notes
Jan 28

Dierks Bentley Reveals More Details & Track Listing for Riser

Dierks Bentley Reveals More Details & Track Listing for Riser

Dierks Bentley’s 2014 album, Riser. Photo courtesy of The Green Room.

When Dierks Bentley was designing the cover art of his upcoming Riser album, out February 25, he chose the thunderbird symbol to represent the project’s themes of strength, resilience and renewal. His first album since the passing of his father, the project also has a strong sense of family and community, featuring some of his close friends from Music City, including both seasoned veterans and rising stars.

“It’s important to really know the writers and musicians you work with, to hang out with them and live in the same world,” he said. “I have such a romance with Nashville and this community. I drove across the country when I was 19 years old with a dream of just being invited to the party. It’s still wild to me that I get to work with and call so many incredibly talented people my friends.”

Produced by Ross Copperman and Arturo Buenahora Jr, Dierks co-wrote six of the album’s 12 tracks with some of Nashville’s most acclaimed songwriters such as Brett James, Josh Kear and Chris Tompkins. He also invited Kacey Musgraves, Chris Stapleton, Charlie Worsham and The Cadillac Three’s Jaren Johnston to write and play on the project.

The songs chosen for Riser tell the of the ups and downs Dierks has experienced over the last two years, ranging from the loss of his father to the birth of his third child, Knox. The project was recorded in the Red Room, producer Ross Copperman’s home studio. Ross was no more than an arm’s length away during recording, giving Dierks the sonically intense album he was looking for.

“It’s the sound in my head that I hear when I’m playing a live show,” he said. “You have one ear monitor in, one ear out, and the crowd’s there and your voice feels really great. There’s a certain amount of gravel to it because you’re tired, but you’re all jacked up on whatever you’re drinking and adrenaline, and the crowds and the fans are there and there’s this feeling, fists in the air—it’s that thing that’s hard to transfer into a studio environment. There’s a rawness.”

Riser is available for pre-order on iTunes. It features Dierks’ current single, “I Hold On.” He will kick off his Riser Tour in May.

Riser Track Listing

  1. Bourbon In Kentucky (featuring Kacey Musgraves on background vocals)
  2. Say You Do
  3. I Hold On
  4. Pretty Girls
  5. Here On Earth
  6. Drunk On A Plane
  7. Five
  8. Riser
  9. Sounds of Summer
  10. Damn These Dreams
  11. Back Porch
  12. Hurt Somebody (featuring Chris Stapleton on background vocals)


Tags: , , , ,

Posted at 5:27 pm, January 28, 2014 | Permalink

COMMENT POLICY wants to give you, the fans, a voice on our website and to provide the opportunity for you to share your thoughts about this story. We encourage lively interaction and debate on the stories we post, but we ask that you refrain from using profanity or other offensive speech, engaging in personal attacks or name-calling, posting advertising, or wandering away from the topic at hand. Thanks for taking the time to contribute and being respectful to others.

Post a Comment