News And Notes
Mar 12

Eli Young Band Reveal How They Chose Their Album Cuts

Eli Young Band Reveal How They Chose Their Album Cuts

Eli Young Band photo courtesy of Republic Nashville.

Eli Young Band’s new album, 10,000 Towns, hit stores last week. The band also released a deluxe edition of the project containing three bonus songs exclusively through Walmart. Choosing which songs to make bonus tracks and which to put on the standard album turned out to be more challenging than expected.

“Sifting down from 60 songs down to 14 was tough, but then when we got down to the actual album and three of those songs were gonna become the exclusive for Walmart it was tough because we loved every one of them,” said Mike Eli. “It really kind of came down to the show, honestly. We have always said that we make records to play live and so it came down to, ‘Well, which ones will be played live more and what’s going to contribute to the live show,’ and that was kind of the deciding factor.”

The standard version of 10,000 towns features 11 songs, including their current single, “Dust,” and their recent No. 1, “Drunk Last Night. The Walmart deluxe edition includes the 11 original tracks plus “Traces,” “June July August” and “The Moon’s on Fire.” The band is currently a special guest on Darius Rucker’s True Believers Tour.


Tags: , ,

Posted at 9:32 am, March 12, 2014 | Permalink

COMMENT POLICY wants to give you, the fans, a voice on our website and to provide the opportunity for you to share your thoughts about this story. We encourage lively interaction and debate on the stories we post, but we ask that you refrain from using profanity or other offensive speech, engaging in personal attacks or name-calling, posting advertising, or wandering away from the topic at hand. Thanks for taking the time to contribute and being respectful to others.

Post a Comment